National Curriculum assessments

The National Curriculum sets out 8 levels of attainment, as well as an additional accolade for ‘exceptional performance’.  These levels are used to give parents an indication of their child’s performance in comparison to the average for their age.  Children following the National Curriculum are assessed in a number of ways. 

  • Teacher assessments are made at the end of Key Stages 1, 2 and 3.  Teachers report on a child’s attainment in each subject and specify which National Curriculum level they are working at. 
  • ‘End of key stage’ tests determine a child’s performance in each subject.  The results of these tests are also used to measure a school’s performance as a whole, in comparison to the rest of the country. 

Comments on this article 10 January, 2011

good information

Valena 30 June, 2012

I am trying to locate the table for grade boundaries A*, A, A-, B+, B- etc for Key Stage 3. Can you assist.

Add your comment

This helps to discourage spam