Key Stages

The National Curriculum is separated into Key Stages 1, 2, 3 and 4, according to children’s ages.  The additional Early Years Foundation Stage is designed for educating children aged 3-5. 

Early Years Foundation Stage

 3-4 and 4-5 year olds are placed in the Early Years Foundation Stage.  Children begin Reception class aged 4-5. 

Key Stage 1

Key Stage 1 is designed for 5-6 year olds in Year 1, and 6-7 year olds in Year 2.  In Year 2, children are assessed by their teacher in English, maths and science.

Key Stage 2

Children begin Key Stage 2 at the age of 7-8, when they enter Year 3.  Key Stage 2 continues to the age of 10-11, when children finish Year 6.  In Year 6, children are assessed in English, maths and science by both their teacher and national tests. 

Key Stage 3

Key Stage 3 covers children aged 11-12 (Year 7) to 13-14 (Year 9).  Children are assessed by their teacher in English, maths, science and other foundation subjects throughout Key Stage 3. 

Key Stage 4

Key Stage 4 covers Year 10 and 11 pupils aged 14-15 and 15-16.  The majority of children take GCSEs or national qualifications in Year 11, but some are entered into assessments early in Year 10. 

Comments on this article

Lin.Whittle 25 September, 2009

How much time should be spent on each subject in key stage 2

emmanuel meliksadig 26 October, 2009

I am a

teacher by proffesion,very much interested in accessing resources for ks2 all with thr planning

Patricia Edet-Essien 26 November, 2009

I am taking accredited teachers training to go back into teaching again as TA , interested in lesson planning resources for Ks 1/2

zub 16 May, 2012

This is an excellent website for the person generally who does want to know about the UK education system up until school level.I like it! it's full of understandable useful information.

Add your comment

This helps to discourage spam